DOE pulls grant funding from BlueFire Renewables cellulosic biofuels plant
Massachusetts awarding $15.5M to alternative fuel vehicles and projects; $1.8M for 8 electric school buses

United States Caribbean Sea Emission Control Area now effective

The United States Caribbean Sea Emission Control Area (ECA) (SOx came into effect, under MARPOL Annex VI, on 1 January 2014, bringing in stricter controls on emissions of sulfur oxide (SOx), nitrogen oxide (NOx) and particulate matter (PM) for ships trading in certain waters adjacent to the coasts of Puerto Rico and the United States Virgin Islands.

The ECA was designated under MARPOL amendments adopted in July 2011. There are now four three designated ECAs in effect globally:

  • The new United States Caribbean Sea ECA (SOx, NOx and PM);
  • the North American ECA (SOx, NOx and PM);
  • the Baltic Sea ECA (SOx); and
  • the North Sea ECA (SOx).


Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Your Information

(Name is required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)