ContiTech advanced engine mounting system reduces weight by ~20%; used in the Malibu
Toyota details design of fuel cell system in Mirai; work on electrode catalysts

Applications open for the fifth Volkswagen and BASF “Science Award Electrochemistry”; new special award for applied research

The BASF and Volkswagen international “Science Award Electrochemistry” is now in its fifth year (earlier post) and has opened the application period for this year’s award. Applications are due by 12 August 2016. Contributions submitted will be assessed by a jury comprising experts from BASF, Volkswagen and representatives from the scientific community. The award ceremony takes place in Berlin on 21 November 2016.

The international “Science Award Electrochemistry” supports excellent scientific and engineering achievements and intends to provide fresh impetus to the development of high-efficiency energy storage devices. The science award has been held every year since 2012 and is intended for scientists working in academic research all over the world. The prize money totals €100,000 and first place receives €50,000.

In 2016, on the occasion of the 5th ceremony of the science award, a special prize worth €15,000 will be awarded to recognize applied research. Different application conditions apply to the special award.

Knowledge of electrochemical processes and their application in the field of materials, battery cells or storage systems is an important base in order to develop future energy storage devices. Without these technologies, it is not possible to provide climate and resource-saving power supplies using regenerative energy or achieve future drive concepts such as electric mobility.

Current energy storage devices have so far been unable to attain the performance which power supply and mobility customers are accustomed to. For this reason Volkswagen and BASF would like to motivate researchers of excellence working in science and corporate research to place even more commitment to the field of electrochemistry and its applications.

Past awards have gone to:

  • 2015: Dr. Bryan McCloskey, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, for Li-O2 battery work. (Earlier post.)

  • 2014: Dr. Vanessa Wood, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich (ETH Zürich), Department of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, Switzerland for her outstanding research results in the area of lithium-ion batteries. Among her other research areas, Dr. Wood analyzed how the microstructure of electrodes influences the efficiency of batteries. (Earlier post.)

  • 2013: Dr. Karl Mayrhofer at Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, Düsseldorf for his research on electrocatalysts, crucial for the life expectancy of fuel cells. (Earlier post.)

  • 2012: Dr. Naoaki Yabuuchi, Tokyo University of Science, Institute for Science and Technology, Tokyo, Japan, for results of his research on different battery technologies. (Earlier post.)


The comments to this entry are closed.